How do I disable the Matomo Visits Log or Visitor Profiles?
The Visits Log and Visitor Profiles display detailed information about individual visits. For privacy compliance, you can disable these features to restrict access to visitor-level data through the Matomo interface and API.
Disabling the Visits Log and Visitors Profiles does not stop Matomo from tracking or storing visitor data. Review your tracking and data retention settings separately to meet your privacy requirements.
How reports are affected
When you disable the Visits Log and Visitor Profiles, it removes the detailed profile associated with each visitor and related visitor-level features become unavailable, such as:
- Segmented Visits Log and real-time map.
- User ID and Visitor ID dimensions when creating segments. This restriction prevents visitor-specific information from being accessed through segment reports.
- Visits in Real-time widget because it normally contains an individual visitor stream. However, you can retain its aggregated counters without displaying individual visitor data by enabling aggregated real-time reports.
- You can choose to disable only the Visitor Profiles so they are not accessible from the Visits Log.
Disable Visits Log and Visitor Profiles for all websites
You can configure the Visits Log, Visitor Profiles and aggregated real-time reports globally for all websites.
- Log in as a superuser
- Go to Administration
> System > General settings.
- In the Live select the option, Turn off Visits Log and Visitor Profiles or Turn off Visitor Profiles.
- Click Save.
- When the Visits Log is disabled, you can retain the aggregated real-time counters for all websites. Select Enable aggregated real-time reports and save your changes. The setting appears after you disable the Visits Log and Visitor Profiles, save your changes and refresh the page. It is disabled by default.
Disable Visits Log and Visitor Profiles for a specific website
- Log in as a superuser or admin user.
- Go to Administration
> Websites (or Measurables) > Manage.
- Click Edit for the website.
- Select the option, Turn off Visits Log and Visitor Profiles or Turn off Visitor Profiles.
- Click Save.
- When the Visits Log is disabled, you can retain the aggregated real-time counters for the specific website. Select Enable aggregated real-time reports and save your changes. The setting appears after you disable the Visits Log and Visitor Profiles, save your changes and refresh the page. It is disabled by default.
Enable aggregated real-time reports
When enabled, the Visits in real-time dashboard widget and Visitors > Real-time report shows only the total visits and actions recorded during the last 24 hours and 30 minutes. It does not display individual visitors, visit details or the actions within each visit.
CNIL compliance
When CNIL compliance settings are enforced and the Visits Log is disabled, you can optionally choose to retain the aggregated Last 24 hours and Last 30 minutes counters by enabling the aggregated real-time reports.