You can access the Manage Users page in the administration area by clicking on the Users entry in the left menu.
How you manage users depends on whether you are an Admin user or a Super User. Super Users can see every user, change any user they want to change, and delete any user they want to delete. Admin users on the other hand can invite new users and can change a user’s role for the websites they are administrators of, but nothing else.
Users Management For Admins
As an Admin user, you can invite new users by clicking the Invite a New User button:
This will take you to the Invite New User Form where you fill out the new user’s details and click Invite user:
Once created, the form will change to the Edit User Form, described below. You can create an unlimited number of users and give them access to one or several websites.
The invited user will receive an email to accept or decline the invite.
If the user declines the invites, the user recorded will be removed from the database.
To Accept the invite, the User will need to enter the new password and accept the terms or privacy, described below (if there is a term or privacy set up in general settings).
The invites are valid for 7 days as default, you can modify it by changing the `default_invite_user_token_expiry_days` in the config file. Once invites are expired, you can resend the by clicking the resend button on the user management page, describe below. (be aware the invite user will auto removed if the cron task is set up and the token expired).
Sometimes you’ll try to invite a user only to be told the user already exists:
As an Admin user, you can only see other users that currently have access to one of the websites you are an Admin of. So it’s entirely possible that the user you want to give access to already exists.
In this case, you’ll want to use the Add existing user button:
In the modal, enter the user’s username or email address and click Add. This will give the user the View role for the website currently selected in the Role for column.
You can edit users both immediately after creating a new user, or by clicking the Edit button in the User Search Table:
Both will take you to the User Edit Form:
As an Admin you cannot edit another user’s basic information (such as their email address or password), but you can change their roles to the websites you are an admin of. To manage an individual user’s access levels, use the Permissions tab in the User Edit Form:
Here you can search through every website you have Admin access to and set the user’s role for them. You can filter websites by name and URL and you can filter websites by the user’s role. For example, you could put mydomain.com in the website filter and select At least View in the access filter to see which websites under *.mydomain.com the user had access to:
This search becomes especially powerful when you’re ready to change a user’s access levels. To change the user’s role for a single website, just use the dropdown located in the table row:
To change the role for multiple websites, use a Bulk Action, by first selecting the websites you want to apply the action to, and then selecting the appropriate option in the Bulk Actions Menu:
Searching for Users
You can change the roles for an individual user via the User Edit Form as described above, but sometimes you need to manage access for a single website and not for a single user. The User Search Table on the main Manage Users page lets you do that:
The User Search Table displays users and their role for a single website. To change that website, use the dropdown in the table header:
You can filter users by username/email/role by using the filters above the table. For example, you could put @myclient.com in the User Search field and select At least View access in the role filter:
You can change a single user’s role by using the dropdown located in each row in the table:
Or you can use bulk actions to change the role of multiple users. To use a bulk action, search for and select the users you want to apply the action to, then select the appropriate action in the Bulk Actions dropdown:
Filter User by Status, you can also filter a user by their status, see below
Resend invite/copy invite link. Once you click copy invite link, the invite link will be on your clipboard, simply paste it to use it. Or you resend the invite email to the user.